The Great Spanish Experiment – Day 2

We just got back from a wonderful Spring Break trip to Sacramento (post forthcoming), so this follow-up has been a bit slower than I expected.

We have continued to study Spanish as I described in my previous post, and my kids have really enjoyed the experiment! In fact, my daughter has especially taken off with it. She tells me that she loves to hear me speak Spanish, and she tries out new phrases whenever they occur to her throughout our day. Win!

The second day of the Three Billy Goats Gruff lesson went like this:

English Version

  • Well, here are the three goats. One…Two…Three. Three goats.
  • Here is the little goat.
  • Here is his little tree, his little flower and his little patch of grass.
  • Here is the medium goat.
  • Here is his medium tree, his medium flower and his medium patch of grass.
  • Here is the large goat.
  • Here is his big tree, his big flower and his big patch of grass.
  • The little goat eats his little patch of grass.
  • The little goat eats his little flower.
  • The little goat eats the leaves of his little tree.
  • Oh, no! There’s no more to eat!
  • The little goat is hungry. He’s very hungry!
  • He goes to the medium goat.
  • “Hello, medium goat.”
  • “Hello, little goat.”
  • “How are you?”
  • “I’m fine. How about you?”
  • “I’m hungry, very hungry!”
  • The little goat eats a little bit of the medium flower.
  • “No! Don’t eat my flower!”, says the medium goat.
  • Poor little goat!
  • He’s so hungry!
  • (Repeat with the big goat.)

Spanish Version

  • Bueno, aquí están los tres chivos. Uno…Dos…y tres. Tres chivos.
  • Aquí está el chivo pequeño.
  • Aquí está su árbol pequeño, su flor pequeña y su área de pasto pequeño.
  • Aquí está el chivo mediano.
  • Aquí está su árbol mediano, su flor mediana y su área de pasto mediano.
  • Aquí está el chivo grande.
  • Aquí está su árbol grande, su flor grande y su área de pasto grande.
  • El chivo pequeño come su pequeño área de pasto.
  • Come su flor pequeña.
  • Come las hojas de su árbol pequeño.
  • ¡Ay, no! No hay nada más que comer.
  • El chivo pequeño tiene hambre, mucha hambre.
  • Va a visitar al chivo mediano.
  • “Hola, chivo mediano.”
  • “Hola, chivo pequeño.”
  • “¿Cómo estás?
  • “Estoy bien. ¿Cómo estás tú?
  • “Tengo hambre, mucha hambre.”
  • El chivo pequeño come un poquito de la flor mediana.
  • “¡NO!”, dice el chivo mediano. “No comas mi flor mediano.”
  • ¡Pobre chivo pequeño!
  • Tiene mucha hambre.
  • (Se repite con el chivo grande.)

Like on day one, I over emphasized the emotions, used my voice and body language to help clarify, and I used just a few well-placed props to help out.

Probably the most important non-verbal cue that I used in this lesson was erasing the food on the dry-erase board as the little goat was eating it while making smacking sounds with my lips. In fact, the kids were so enthusiastic about this part that they started erasing the food for me.

Also, when the medium goat stops the little goat from eating his food (and the big goat, later), I took the paper puppet that I made and had him push the little goat out of the way and said, “NO,” in a very firm voice. Then, I made the little goat look down and made a very sad voice for “Poor little goat!”. My daughter said she almost wanted to cry for him! She really felt sad for him!

That was day two. We stopped there, so they were left with a cliffhanger ending. What will happen to the little goat? Will he go hungry?

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

